Swiss Alp cheese.
Where tradition ripens into pleasure

For good reason

The Swiss Alps. Up here, in rugged nature and far from bustling streets, a world-renowned cheese is created. As long ago as the Roman occupation cheese was produced with sour milk. Then in the Middle Ages rennet cheese established itself in the monasteries and on the alps, where in the 16th century the number of animals grazed increased steadily.

Hundreds of different herbs, crystal-clear water and pure mountain air make alp cheese an experience that goes far beyond the palate. But this is not the only reason why alp cheese is so special. For it can only bear the designation Alpkäse when it is produced with milk from cows, goats or sheep grazing on the alp. And unlike mountain cheese it is produced only in summer and only on the alp.

Craft born out of tradition

As soon as spring arrives in the mountains, the alp farmers move there with their animals. For the next 80 to 120 days, the alp hut is their home. And this is also when the alp cheese needs to be made. It’s a complex process that demands considerable skill and experience. One of the reasons for this is that, up here, at an altitude of up to 2,500 metres, the weather changes quickly. Immediately after milking, the tangy raw milk is heated on the spot – over the fire or using a steam boiler, depending on the region. This is the start of a long process that requires considerable effort and attention as each hand movement shapes the unique character and quality of the alp cheese.

Matured with love

Each region has its own recipe, its own tradition; each alp has its own family secret. These all combine to shape the aroma, colour, shape and hardness of the alp cheese. The ageing period depends on the particular type of cheese. Each cheese thus develops its own unmistakable personality: the nutty and creamy L’Etivaz from the Vaud Alps, the strong Berner Alp und Hobelkäse, the aromatic Ticino Alpkäse, the delicate Gruyère d’Alpage and the tangy Alp-Sbrinz. No two cheeses taste alike. And each of them is an experience in itself – like their home region.

A healthy pleasure

Alp cheese contains many hearty ingredients, which not only give the particular cheese its unique flavour but also make it a healthy pleasure. The high proportion of valuable unsaturated fatty acids in the cheese is beneficial to the cardiovascular system. But making alp cheese also benefits nature: cultivating the alps is not only advantageous to us humans, it also makes a sustainable contribution to biodiversity in the alp meadows.

“High mountains are touchstones, not just of ability.”

Kurt Diemberger (*1932)

Traditional methods

While many alp cheese dairies are equipped with modern facilities, alp cheese is still made primarily by hand. Primitive utensils and elaborate methods are often used. Making alp cheese demands considerable skill and experience.

The fresh, aromatic and healthy herbs in the alpine meadows produce a full-flavoured raw milk, which is carefully processed almost as soon as the cow has been milked.

The fresh, aromatic and healthy herbs in the alpine meadows produce a full-flavoured raw milk, which is carefully processed almost as soon as the cow has been milked.

The milk is then heated over a wood fire. The smoke adds to the unmistakable flavour.

The milk is then heated over a wood fire. The smoke adds to the unmistakable flavour.

Once the culture and the rennet have been added, the mass is then cut with a cheese harp. This process is known as ‘pre-curdling’. The culture is made up of the lactic acid bacteria, which are needed to break down the lactose and to ripen the cheese. Rennet is an enzyme found in the stomach of calves; it causes the milk to curdle.

Once the culture and the rennet have been added, the mass is then cut with a cheese harp. This process is known as ‘pre-curdling’. The culture is made up of the lactic acid bacteria, which are needed to break down the lactose and to ripen the cheese. Rennet is an enzyme found in the stomach of calves; it causes the milk to curdle.

After the cheese (curd) has been heated to a precisely defined temperature, a cloth and Bögli (a steel strip) are used. The cheese mixture is then placed in the cheese mould.

After the cheese (curd) has been heated to a precisely defined temperature, a cloth and Bögli (a steel strip) are used. The cheese mixture is then placed in the cheese mould.

The mixture is squeezed in the cheese mould, known as the Järb or circle, and then placed in a salt bath.

The mixture is squeezed in the cheese mould, known as the Järb or circle, and then placed in a salt bath.

The wheels are inspected regularly in the cheese cellar; they first need to be brushed and then wiped dry.

The wheels are inspected regularly in the cheese cellar; they first need to be brushed and then wiped dry.

Proven quality

AOP stands for “Appellation d’Origine Protégée” (Protected Designation of Origin). Once registered by the Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture, this protected designation can be used exclusively for products that meet the provisions governing rules of origin and the procedural and quality standards stated in the specifications. AOP guarantees that the alp cheese originates entirely from the named area of origin. Independent certification bodies perform regular checks to ensure that the requirements are met. In other areas, alp cheeses are monitored according to industry guidelines for good practice in alp products set out by the Schweizerischer Alpwirtschaftlicher Verband (SAV), a Swiss national agricultural organisation.

Fromage d’alpage suisse.
Où le plaisir naît de la tradition

 

Un produit d’exception

Les Alpes suisses. C’est tout là-haut, dans une nature encore brute et éloignée des routes encombrées, que naît un fromage de renommée internationale. À l’époque romaine, on y fabriquait déjà du fromage à partir de lait caillé. Puis, au Moyen Âge, c’est la fabrication de fromage présure qui s’est établie dans les couvents et dans les Alpes, où le nombre d’animaux détenus au pâturage n’a cessé de croître durant le XVIe siècle.

Des centaines de plantes de toutes sortes, une eau limpide et l’air pur des montagnes font du fromage d’alpage une expérience qui va bien au-delà du plaisir gustatif. Mais ils ne font pas à eux seuls la particularité de ce produit. Le fromage d’alpage peut en effet uniquement porter cette appellation s’il est produit à partir de lait de vaches, de chèvres ou de brebis paissant à l’alpage. Et contrairement au fromage de montagne, il est produit exclusivement en été et à l’alpage.

Un artisanat riche en traditions

Dès l’arrivée du printemps dans les montagnes, les alpagistes et leurs troupeaux rejoignent les hauteurs, où ils resteront entre 80 et 120 jours. C’est aussi durant cette période que doit être fabriqué le fromage d’alpage. Sa fabrication est un procédé complexe, qui requiert beaucoup de doigté et d’expérience. En effet, à 2500 mètres d’altitude, le temps change rapidement. Juste après avoir été trait, l’aromatique lait cru est chauffé au feu de bois ou dans une chaudière à vapeur en fonction de la région. C’est ainsi que commence le long processus de fabrication, qui demande beaucoup d’énergie et d’attention. Chaque manipulation aura en effet une influence sur le caractère unique et la qualité du fromage d’alpage.

Affiné avec amour

Chaque région suit sa propre recette, sa propre tradition et chaque alpage garde précieusement son secret de famille. Autant d’éléments qui agissent sur l’arôme, la couleur, la forme et le degré de dureté du fromage d’alpage. La durée d’affinage varie d’un fromage à l’autre. Chaque variété développe ainsi son caractère unique: L’Étivaz onctueux aux notes de noisette des Alpes vaudoises, les savoureux Berner Alpkäse et Berner Hobelkäse, l’aromatique Formaggio d’alpe ticinese, le délicieux Gruyère d’alpage et le Sbrinz d’alpage bien corsé – tous se différencient par leur goût inimitable! Et chacun est une expérience en soi, comme la région de laquelle il provient.

Un plaisir sain

Le fromage d’alpage se compose de nombreux ingrédients de haute qualité, qui non seulement définissent son goût unique, mais en font en outre un plaisir sain. Sa forte teneur en précieux acides gras insaturés a des effets bénéfiques sur le système cardio-vasculaire. La production de fromage d’alpage constitue aussi un bienfait pour la nature. L’exploitation des alpages n’est en effet pas seulement utile à l’être humain; elle favorise aussi la biodiversité sur les pâturages d’alpages.

"Si haute soit la montagne, on y trouve un sentier."

Anonyme

Une fabrication traditionnelle

Bien que la plupart des fromageries d’alpage disposent d’équipements modernes, la fabrication du fromage d’alpage reste un travail d’artisan. On utilise souvent des appareils d’époque et des méthodes ancestrales, raison pour laquelle ce procédé demande beaucoup de doigté et d’expérience.

Les herbes des pâturages d'alpage sont fraîches, saines et parfumées, c'est pourquoi le lait des alpages est si goûteux. Après la traite, il est travaillé avec soin.

Les herbes des pâturages d'alpage sont fraîches, saines et parfumées, c'est pourquoi le lait des alpages est si goûteux. Après la traite, il est travaillé avec soin.

Il est chauffé au feu de bois, la fumée donnant au fromage d'alpage son goût particulier.

Il est chauffé au feu de bois, la fumée donnant au fromage d'alpage son goût particulier.

Après l'ajout des cultures et de la présure, la masse (le caillé) est coupée au moyen du tranche-caillé. On parle alors de décaillage. Par culture, on entend les bactéries lactiques nécessaires à la dégradation du lactose et à l'affinage. La présure est une enzyme issue de l'estomac des veaux, qui provoque la coagulation du lait.

Après l'ajout des cultures et de la présure, la masse (le caillé) est coupée au moyen du tranche-caillé. On parle alors de décaillage. Par culture, on entend les bactéries lactiques nécessaires à la dégradation du lactose et à l'affinage. La présure est une enzyme issue de l'estomac des veaux, qui provoque la coagulation du lait.

Le caillé est ensuite chauffé jusqu'à atteindre une température précise avant d'être sorti à l'aide d'une baguette et d'une toile. Puis, la masse est placée dans un moule (cercle de bois).

Le caillé est ensuite chauffé jusqu'à atteindre une température précise avant d'être sorti à l'aide d'une baguette et d'une toile. Puis, la masse est placée dans un moule (cercle de bois).

La masse est mise sous presse dans le moule, puis plongée dans la saumure.

La masse est mise sous presse dans le moule, puis plongée dans la saumure.

Dans la cave d'affinage, les fromages sont soumis à des soins réguliers. Ils sont d'abord brossés, puis séchés.

Dans la cave d'affinage, les fromages sont soumis à des soins réguliers. Ils sont d'abord brossés, puis séchés.

Une qualité contrôlée

Une fois enregistrée auprès de l’Office fédéral de l’agriculture, l’appellation d’origine protégée – l’AOP – peut uniquement être utilisée pour les produits qui satisfont aux exigences du cahier des charges en matière de provenance, de procédure et de qualité. L’AOP garantit que le fromage d’alpage provient à 100 % de la région dont il porte le nom. Des organes de certification indépendants contrôlent régulièrement que les prescriptions soient respectées. Dans certaines régions, le fromage d’alpage doit répondre aux exigences du guide des bonnes pratiques de la Société suisse d’économie alpestre (SSEA).